Step-By-Step Tutorial: Toothless from How To Train Your Dragon

Toothless_Title

As promised in my last blog post, here’s a visual step-by-step tutorial of how to crochet and assemble an Amigurumi Toothless.

You will find the pattern HERE on Sarselgurumi’s blog. This post is intended to compliment Sarselgurumi’s pattern with visuals. I hope you find it useful!

I used dark navy DK yarn and a 2.75mm hook.

TOOTHLESS’ PARTS

BODY

The body is started at the base and worked up to the neck. The decreases shape it into a “sitting” posed body.

Toothless_BodyBase

Toothless_BodySide

Toothless_Body_Top

 

HEAD

The pattern calls for Toothless’ head to be “shaped” during the stuffing process. However, I found that the increased were sufficient in giving him a pointed snout. I think working with a smaller hook (a 2.75mm – which created tighter stitches) helped in giving Toothless’ head shape.

Toothless_Head_Top

Toothless_Head_Side

Toothless_Head_Underside

Toothless_HeadFront

CROCHETING TOOTHLESS’ TOES

1) As instructed, crochet the base of the foot. With the sole facing down, your foot base should look like this.

Toothless_Foot_a1

2) I put a stitch marker at the beginning of the round. As per pattern, crochet in the first few front loops.

Toothless_Foot_1

3) Half double crochet into one stitch as instructed (I’ve traced the HDC stitches in red) and loosen the last loop as shown in the image below. Remove crochet hook.

Toothless_Foot_2

 

4) Insert hook into the first HDC and pick up the loosened loop. Then, as indicated by the red arrow, tighten the loose loop and pull through the first HDC.

Toothless_Foot_3

 

5) Then you will have your toe!

Toothless_Foot_4

 

6) Continue following the pattern. When you have finished the round, your “foot” should look like this.

Toothless_Foot_5

 

7) When you  sc the next round though, be careful to note that some of the stitches (especially around the toes) you crochet into will not be as obvious.

Toothless_Foot_6

FRONT LEGS

Toothless_FrontLegs

BACK LEGS

Toothless_BackLegs

EARS

Toothless_Ears

MINI HORNS

Toothless_MiniHorns

 

TAIL

Toothless_Tail

 

WINGS

Toothless_Wings

 

TAIL FINS (Part A and Part B)

Toothless_TailFins

At the end of Row 3 on Part B of the wings the pattern says to slip stitch through the ends of the previous rows to create a curve. I understood this to mean slip stitching into the stitches marked in red.

Toothless_Fins_1

 

The end result creates a curve around the edge of the piece.

 

Toothless_Fins_2

 

Once you have completed all the parts of Toothless you should have something like this…!

Toothless_Parts

 

Which leads to…

ASSEMBLING TOOTHLESS

HEAD TO BODY

First of all, Toothless head is to be connected to his body. The pattern suggests skewering both parts onto a knitting needle – and this was a great way to keep both parts inline whilst sewing them together.

Toothless_Assembly_1

LEGS TO BODY

I attached Toothless’ back legs to his rear at a 90 degree angle – sticking out to his left and right.

I attached his front legs pressed against the front of his body.

Toothless_FeetPosition

 

EARS, MINI HORNS and EARS to HEAD

Toothless’ Mini Horns and Ears frame his face in the same way a mane frames a lion’s face. I attached the two mini horns on Toothless’ head first and then worked down his face. I positioned the first two horns a few rows behind the centre of his head as seen in the picture below.

Toothless Ear Position

As I attached the ears and other mini horns, I positioned them a little closer to the front of his face. From the side you can see how the mini horns and ears tilt at an angle around Toothless’ face.

Toothless_Ear Postion_1

 

 

Toothless_5

TAIL AND WINGS TO BODY

Toothless_Wing Position

 

TAIL FINS AND TAIL

I struggled a little to understand how Toothless’ tail fins should attach to his tail. I looked at pictures of the animated Toothless for ideas and in the end settled for this arrangement.

Toothless_Assembly_2

 

After all this you should finally have your very own Toothless!

Toothless_1

I hope this post has been of use to those of you who are making a Toothless on your own! It’s an amigurumi pattern more challenging than most, but very rewarding to complete!

 

58 thoughts on “Step-By-Step Tutorial: Toothless from How To Train Your Dragon

    • Hi Karmen,

      It’s a little trickier than most amigurumi patterns, but not very. I felt the most complicated part of the pattern was forming the toes for the feet. Perhaps try this part of the pattern first, and if you can understand it, go for it? Hopefully the pictures in this post can help you understand any techniques that seem complicated?

      Toothless took me about a week to complete. I worked on him with any free time I had that week. It helped that I really enjoyed seeing Toothless come together though, as this motivated me to keep going. I hope this helps! 🙂

    • Hi Jess!

      I think that Row 12 might have been a count error. I can’t remember what I did for my Toothless – but it makes more sense that Row 12 is 50 (as the count before the increase is 48, and becomes 54 in the next increase).

      • When you look at the pattern. On the Row 12 increase it is a double increase so instead of the normal 1 increase you increase it by 2 so you do three sc in one stitch twice. so it goes to 52.

    • Hi Jess!

      I understood the comment at the beginning of Row 4 “In BLO (except for the toes)” to apply to the whole row. So even when it says “sc 4, toe*, sc 2” the sc are to be crocheted in BLO.

      You’re right in how you understood the pattern. 🙂 The pattern was just written in a different way.

  1. Pingback: Drachenhäkeln leicht gemacht | umNadelsbreite

    • Hi Lindsay, I’m so sorry I didn’t reply to this earlier.

      I noticed that with the wing pattern that the terms “chain” and “foundation sc” are both used but refer to the same technique.

      Foundation sc, from my understanding and experience with the pattern, is the same as just crocheting a chain.

      I hope this makes sense and answers your question! 🙂

  2. gracias, por el tutorial yo hice uno y me equivoque en algunas partes voy hacerlo de nuevo teniendo en cuenta sus explicaciones,

  3. Pingback: Toothless from How to Train Your Dragon 2 | Amigurumi by Ms. Pots

  4. Pingback: Desdentado en imágenes! | Agumirumis

    • Hi Kimberley,
      My Toothless measured about 14cm/5.5 inches in height (when measured from base to the highest point of its ear). Hope that helps!

    • Hi Leanne! I cut my Toothless eyes out of different colours of felt. I used a fluro green for the eye and black for the pupil. I added a small circle of white to imitate a “reflection” in Toothless’ eyes.

      The original pattern has a template for the eyes. However, as everyone’s Toothless is slightly different, I used the eye template as a guide. It took a bit of trial and error to work out which eyes worked best for my Toothless. I kept placing the felt eyes on Toothless, trimming and adjusting them until I was happy with how they looked. After that I glued them on. I hope you’re able to work out an eye shape that you are happy with for your Toothless! 🙂

  5. Hi was wondering if you could help me with the wings, Im a beginner and this is my second ami project. I cant get my wings to look correct like yours, There not in steps and its a lil harder to understand then the rest of the pattern are you able to help me organise it into steps please. I attempted too but seems i got it wrong. I will be trying again in the mean time.

    • Hi Jamie, Thanks for the feedback! 🙂 This seems to be one of the trickier parts to understand. I’ll try and photograph this in the next few days and update this post.

      In the meantime, I’m not sure if this is the part that you’re having trouble with but the terms “chain” and “foundation sc” are both used but refer to the same technique. A foundation sc is essentially a chain.

    • Hi Toni. Sorry for such a late reply! I can’t remember exactly, but I’m sure a regular ball should be enough. Amigurumi doesn’t tend to use up much yarn at all. 🙂

  6. Hi so I was wondering did you do it by marking or did you put a slip stitch at the endbof each round? Also thank you so much for putting this up!

    • Hi Rachel! Sorry this is such a late reply! I didn’t put a slip stitch at the end of rounds – I find it leaves a funny seam on amigurumi. Putting a marker at the end of rounds is probably the best way to work with this pattern.

    • Hi Mary, sorry this is such a late reply! The HDC start in the 5th sc from the beginning of the round. BLO stands for Back Loop Only, so it’s in the back loop that you insert the hook. I hope that helps you! 🙂

  7. I tried making the tail two times and it was twisted, not like a smooth curve. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. I wonder what do you do exactly? After every row do I slip stitch and start the next row or do I not slip stitch, continue to work on the next row? I wish there is a video tutorial lol

    • Hi Teresa, sorry this is a late reply! When I crochet amigurumi I don’t do a slip stitch at the end of a row – I find it leaves a diagonal seam. Perhaps try crocheting the tail without slip stitching (if you haven’t already)? I hope that helps! 🙂

  8. Hi. I am having trouble with the tail. I don’t understand what m2 stands for. I looked at different crochet abbreviations and not one says what it is supposed to mean. If some one can help me out I would appreciate it.

    • Hi Jennifer, apologies for such a late response. I can’t remember what I did, but I noticed that in the comments that someone explains that ‘m2’ is an abbreviation for “make two” – so an increase. 🙂

  9. Hi, I’m trying to make this for my girlfriend with no previous crochet experience. Starting with the body, I made the magic ring and then did “Sc 2 in each sc around” which I interpreted as put my crochet hook through so there were two pieces of thread on my hook and then did a single crochet. But “(Sc 1, inc 1) 6 times” (<–this confuses me. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do.

    • Hi Noah! That’s really cool you’re trying to make a Toothless for your girlfriend.

      “Sc 2 in each sc around” means to crochet 2 single crochet stitches into each crochet stitch.

      This is a bit of a tricky pattern for a beginner. You might want to check out a post like this one by All About Ami to help you get to know the basics of crocheting amigurumi – http://www.allaboutami.com/post/8476868368/amigurumiforbeginners

      All the best with your project!

    • Once you do your slip stitch from your 1st hdc pulling the loop from the 5th hdc to make the toe, proceed on to the next stitch as you would continue around in your round. So you would now make a sc in the next 2 stitches then start another toe. Hope that helps…

  10. This pattern is fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing!! I am almost finished with my toothless now. Its not very complicated, it just has lots of parts 🙂 probably took my 3-4 hours total to make him. My kids LOVE it already!

  11. I have a question. I’ve asked this weeks ago to the designer with no answer so hopefully you can help me. I am having such an issue with the tail, especially with the increasing. when it says ” sc4 , m2 x2 , sc4, s2tog” does this mean “sc x 4, inc, inc, sc4, dec ” or does it mean sc4, inc inc (so 4 sts in one), sc4 ,dec?
    also

    • Hi! The designer uses “m2” to indicate a regular “2sc in sc” increase – so “sc x 4, inc, inc, sc4, dec ” is correct. I hope this helps! 🙂

  12. Thank you so much for these great pictures and instructions! They helped tremendously with the assembly of my dragon! The time and effort you put into this is greatly appreciated!

  13. Thank you for the pattern. i am happy with my completed Toothless but need to stiffen his ears and wings. Tried hairspray but that does not seem to work. Any suggestions, please?

  14. Hi. I love crochet but I’m bad at reading patterns so I normally rely on watching videos to help me along. Would you be willing to make a video on how to make the toothless amigurumi.

  15. Pingback: Amigurumi Toothless – Krafty Kait

  16. I really appreciate your tutorial! Lots of pieces , a great pattern but it doesn’t have direction for placement or easy to see photos in the original. Thank you for taking it the extra step!

  17. Thankyou so much for your detailed photo tutorial !! It has helped me sooo much in putting toothless together ! With all his bits n pieces being tiny and fiddly you have made my job of putting him together so easy! Thankyou!!

Leave a Reply

