Are you smitten by this Kitten?

kitty_1

 

On my recent holiday I made the mistake of not bringing enough memory cards for my camera. By Day 4 I had already started using my second (and only other) card. I guess I had gotten a little carried away. My snap happy self was a little alarmed that I would have to be more selective with my shots for the remaining three weeks of new sights! But then, it turned out one of my friends had packed more than enough memory cards and was kind enough to loan me one. So to say thank you, I crocheted her this kitten!

This pattern is from Amigurumi Toy Box by Ana Paula Rimoli.

While the kitten in the book is made from tan and cream coloured yarn, I though I’d try something a bit different and opted to use a multi coloured ball of yarn. Unlike some other multi coloured yarns, this one transitioned between its different shades of brown so smoothly that the kitten had a more natural looking colour.

kitty_2

 

As suggested in the book, some of its legs were crocheted in a solid, alternate colour. Conveniently, the pale tan colour I had matched the pale tans in the multi colour yarn – so much so that you can’t really tell that the two are both used in the kitten’s tail, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

The kitten was a quick, enjoyable project to crochet, but I found its assembly a little trickier. The pictures in the book didn’t show the kitten in too many angles, so it took some thought about where best it was to place its head and legs. So for anyone who is also crocheting this pattern I included this shot (though blurry – – sorry!) to help you out – because I wish I had a reference like this when I was sewing the kitten together!

kitty_3

 

The kitten’s head is attached to the body along the back of it’s head, and slightly to the right. Its front legs sit at the head/body join and its back legs are parallel to the front, but sitting more so along either sides of its body. I hope this picture was useful to someone! πŸ™‚

A random, cool thing happened as I was shooting these pictures. Just a metre or so away from me, a Rainbow Lorikeet (which are local to our area) landed on our clothes line to check out what I was doing. Though wild, it seemed unfazed when I turned my lens from the kitten to it instead.

4

 

It was then momentarily joined by another before they both flew away. I love that I share my neighbourhood with such beautiful birds!

But I digress. Back to the kitten. I handed it over to its new owner and she (thankfully!) liked it. She even photographed it with her own, real life cat (though the real life cat hardly look impressed! Haha..).

Have you made and given any amigurumi away lately? πŸ™‚

kitty_5

3 thoughts on “Are you smitten by this Kitten?

  1. You have such beautiful patterns I don’t know where to start! I am desperately looking for the gorgeous baby meerkats I saw on Google and credited to your site. Do you still have this pattern?

Leave a Reply

