Rainbow Infinity Circle Scarf

1

Now that we’re truly into Autumn on this side of the earth, the weather is now more consistently cool. Gone are the random hot days that would puncture the unconvincing string of cool autumn ones. We are now definitely heading to winter.

The project I’m featuring this week was actually completed a few weeks ago. Scarfs are one of my favourite winter accessories as they can instantly pick up a dark, neutral outfit.

The pattern is taken from Rachael Oglesby’s book “Crochet Boutique“. I starts off with a chain of single crochet which is then joined – the remainder of the scarf worked in a continuous circle.  As my head is larger than average and I wanted a scarf that would comfortable loop twice around my neck, I added about 20-30 more single crochet to the starting chain.

2

3

4

This scarf came together very quickly as it was worked with a 6.5mm (size K – 10.5 U.S) hook.

As this is an American book, it suggested yarn that is not available in Australian stores so I looked for a yarn that suggested a similar sized hook for its tension.

I ended up using yarn from the Moda Vera (which on further research seems to be an in-house brand of Australian Spotlight stores) “Bouvardia” range. I chose the colour “theme” called “Sunspot”. It was quite expensive (approx $10AU a 100g ball! Thankfully, the scarf only required about 1.5 balls!), but I loved the soft texture and bright, diverse colours so didn’t hesitate too much to purchase it.  I loved how, as I crocheted, the colours would seem to melt from blue to purple to orange and so on.

5

6

I’m really happy with how my scarf turned out.  I look forward to getting a good use out of it this winter!

Have you made/are you making a scarf for this winter (if you are on the southern hemisphere, that is!)?

7 thoughts on “Rainbow Infinity Circle Scarf

  1. That’s a lovely scarf, so bright and cheerful 🙂
    I am making two scarves at the moment both using the “Lillium” yarn from spotlight. I can’t wait to wear them now that the weather is finally starting to cool down!

Leave a Reply

