Happy Chinese New Year!

1So, this is a little belated but – “Happy Chinese New Year!”

Can you believe it was about a year ago I pledged to revive this blog? Though I didn’t keep my promise for a good part of the year, eventually I came good in September when I started posted my first real amigurumi creation. Thank you to those of you who have been reading my blog. You are a significant part of why I’ve been motivated to push myself to be more consistently creative in the last six months. It might sound a bit of a dramatic claim, but it has honestly changed my life.

This year I hope to push myself further creatively, namely, picking up my illustration and painting again – consistently. Maybe even try my hand at animation again as I did back in Uni. Start an online store to create prints and objects for. Maybe even find a way to leave my current retail occupation for something creative!

Anyway, I just wanted to quickly post about another little amigurumi I made for Chinese New Year – the Year of the Snake. The pattern is from (once again!) the All About Ami blog. It’s terribly cute and made a sweet addition to the few CNY decorations we had at home.

2

Yesterday I took my little friend along to check out the Chinese New Year parade in the city (it was postponed to yesterday as last weekend Sydney had a thunderstorm). I managed to get a blurry snap or two of him against the lit up buildings and colourful dragons and performers!

5

But this shot, taken inside the Queen Victoria Building is my favourite. Something to do with all that symmetry, methinks!

4

Some tourists saw me taking pictures of him and found him so adorable that they asked if they could take some photos of him too. I love how crochet randomly started a conversation!

How did your hometown celebrate Chinese New Year? Has crochet ever started a random conversation for you? 🙂

One thought on “Happy Chinese New Year!

Leave a Reply

