Merry (Belated) Christmas!

1

Merry (Belated) Christmas!!

I had a great many plans for Christmas, but alas, not so great organization. I may or may not have spent Christmas morning finishing off a gift I had crocheted. After opening presents and eating mango and cold ham on toast (oh how I love cold Christmas ham!) though.

Anyhow, I digress.

Well, I am here now to post pictures of the gingerbread I baked in the lead up to Christmas before they become even more irrelevant.

Gingerbread. It is not so much an Australian thing – but something we have borrowed from Europe (where it would make much more sense to stand over an oven this time of year). I started baking gingerbread in 2009  when a recipe was featured in a magazine.

Since 2010, its been a little tradition between myself and my little cousin (she is starting high school next year, but she will always be little to me!)  to construct a house about a week out from Christmas. Our first year we made a full sized house. Last year we scaled down the template about half way and made medium sized houses. And this year – we baked little houses just like those on Not Martha. Or at least that is what we tried to do.

3

It took many hours but we finally rolled, cut and baked as many roofs, walls and doorways we could get out of one batch of dough (we actually made and baked another batch of gingerbread a week earlier – we turned those into the cookies at the beginning of this post!).

Painstakingly we glued the pieces together with melted dark and milk chocolate.

4

And then we decorated.

5

Now before I said we *tried* to make ours like Not Martha’s because we didn’t check our house’s doorways – so not all of them were sit-on-the-rim-of-a-cup friendly. But some were. And I managed at least one picturesque shot. 🙂

6

On Christmas day at our family gathering, we shared our little edible works of art, which were thankfully eaten or taken (thankfully because as much as I like gingerbread, I don’t think I could eat a little village of gingerbread houses!!).

Apart from baking, Christmas was simple, but lovely. I got to spend time with my family, relax and remember with much gratitude how many years ago God sent a little baby to earth to bring us all salvation. 🙂

How was your Christmas? Did you bake gingerbread too?

 

Leave a Reply

