Hooked On Sushi

Image

Firstly, I want to say “hi” and “thank you!” to everyone who read my last post. I was so surprised to see I had readers. And not just readers, but readers who were (i) actual people and not computers leaving spam and (ii) people I don’t know in real life. I’ve had a quick look at some of the blogs belonging to you and have realized you are also crochet-ers! Its been exciting to find there is a crafty community out there! 🙂

Anyway, to my post today…

This was a project I started last weekend and had the luxury of finishing this afternoon. The pattern was taken from a book called “Gourmet Crochet” by Christen Haden and Mariarosa Sala (though after a google search it seems the book is better known and avaliable under an edition called “Yummi ‘Gurumi”).

Sushi is one of my favourite things to eat, so it was inevitable my love for the food and crochet would collide in a project like this!

Image

I started by crocheting the nigiri bases. The pattern called for a whip stitch ending, but I preferred to just decrease to close the rounds. I put the nigiri bases in a box left over from sushi I ate for lunch last Sunday. I know they’re meant to be disposable, but I always feel they’re too pretty to throw away! So this is my attempt at “recycling”! 🙂

The various toppings were not too difficult to make with my beginner skills. The salmon and tuna were just simple rows. The egg and octopus were crocheted in rounds (is that even the proper crochet terminology?!) and the prawn (which I left for last) was not as daunting as I thought. Its texture came from combining pink and red embroidery thread with the wool.

Image

I must confess I didn’t follow the pattern exactly. I used the pictures in the book almost as much as the written instructions to create the sushi. I also crocheted two green strands as seaweed to dress up the salmon and tuna sushi.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. It’s a shame it doesn’t serve a practical purpose – but at least it feeds the eyes every time?!

Image

2 thoughts on “Hooked On Sushi

Leave a Reply

