Lesson Three Assignment

Hmm . . so it’s been 3 weeks since I last posted. It’s been a busy 3 weeks of juggling my time between work’s stocktake, preparing my brother’s 21st as well as a few freelance design jobs (which I wish I could share with you now . . but they’ll have to wait for later ). But FINALLY, this week things have started to settle down again. And I’ve been able to get back into my digital painting classes.

This little thing here is a creature illustrated by Bobby Chiu. The task for this lesson was to paint him using textures. It took forever, but I’m pretty happy with how he turned out. What I learnt most in working on this was a better understanding of organic folds in flesh (as odd as that sounds) and how to bring volume into a shape using shadow and light.

Anyway, I’m just glad that I can start/continue progressing with this course. It killed me to have to stall because other things in life were getting in the way. There are still other things to deal with (and not necessary “bad”), but I think I’m starting to get a better balance back into things. Yay.

Before I sign off for now I just wanted to post a picture of something I drew during stocktake.

So it’s crude and drawn on the back of a cardboard box panel with permanent marker (and since stocktake, stained with someone’s dinner) . . but I made a game! Because at times, that’s what stocktake felt like. My co workers helped me think up of “good” and “bad” scenarios to land on (my favourite would have to be turning one of our store’s departments into a jail that you need to roll a 6 to escape!) but we’re still yet to actually play a game. I guess I drew it mainly for laughs and it’s already fulfilled that purpose, so I don’t really care.

One thought on “Lesson Three Assignment

Leave a Reply

