Goodbye July

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”

– George Eliot

Last year, around this time I finished my university degree. I was a Digital Media graduate and I was supposed to go out into the world and get a job. Or better yet, be snapped up by a company where I’d work alongside some legendary talent, absorbing their wisdom and genius. I wanted to be an animator.

I knew deep down that my portfolio wasn’t fantastic but I hoped someone would see the potential in it and give me a chance. I sent letters. I filled out applications. I made cold calls. I did make the short list for an internship but missed the final cut.

Come July still nothing had happened and I let it get to me – my confidence and my heart. I didn’t want to draw anymore and yet I knew there was nothing else I could do. Or rather, should.

The obvious solution would be to have just persevered with my drawings, applications, letters and calls. But I decided to take an indefinite “break” instead and clear my head. Not so much because I was seeking clarity but mostly because I didn’t know what to do anymore.

However, clarity started to return as I traveled and found myself capable of climbing glaciers, snowboarding and jumping (falling?) into canyons (under proper supervision, obviously).

Canyon Swiiiiiiiiiinging

This in turn gave me confidence when back home to start communicating to various people about finding (or doing things to help find) work. Making calls and sending emails couldn’t possibly be scarier than free falling sixty metres?

I begin doing some unpaid freelance graphic design work for my local church community. It was good to be doing something creative again. Graphic design is not *exactly* what I want to do, but I enjoy the creativity and aesthetics involved.

My friend Althea recommended a drawing course to me also, and taking that has also helped to REALLY restore my confidence and passion with/for drawing. That’s been a huge blessing.

Which brings me to where I am now. I am still not there yet – in an artistic occupation(in the animation industry, but probably not as an animator. To be honest, I don’t know if I want to be an animator anymore). But I can see the steps I need to take to it these days. And it’s not too late.

Leave a Reply

